Research Guides

Homosexuality and the University of Melbourne

This subject guide was prepared by Graham Willett and Kathy Sport for a Melbourne Engagement Grant project

The History and Records of the University of Melbourne

A chronological guide to the history of the University from 1853 to recent times, and the records held by UMA relating to the administration of the University of Melbourne, it’s Chancellery, student clubs and societies and those of individuals who have contributed to the success of the departments and faculties

World War One

The University of Melbourne Archives holds many collections of historical material relating to World War One. These collections include original items from Australian soldiers, nurses and doctors at the various fronts, as well as business, union and personal papers revealing the situation on the home front.

Women in the Archives

A thematic guide to the diverse collections created by and documenting women in mass movements, political activism and Australian social life held in the University of Melbourne Archives.

Early Computing

A guide to historical material relating to early computing held in the University of Melbourne Archives. Highlights include: CSIRAC at the University of Melbourne, technical difficulties experienced by early adopters of computing technology, women in early computing, and early calculation and computation machines.

Publishing

This guide introduces researchers to the collections held by the University of Melbourne Archives relating to the Australian publishing and book trade.

Polar Exploration

A thematic guide to the diverse collections created by and documenting Antarctic exploration and study held in the University of Melbourne Archives.

Literary

This guide introduces researchers to the diverse literary collections held by the University of Melbourne Archives (UMA). The literary collections range from early colonial authors to contemporary writers, poets and literary commentators.

Film

This guide introduces researchers to the collections held by the University of Melbourne Archives (UMA) that relate to the social and political impact of film culture. The UMA holds the records of significant figures in the Australian film industry, associations, societies and history of the Melbourne University Film Society (MUFS).

Medical collections in the Archives

The University of Melbourne has long been a centre for the study of medicine and research in Australia. This guide outlines the historical material held in the University of Melbourne Archives, relating to the study and practice of medicine in Victoria, including key figures, academics, and related societies and associations.

The Peace Movement

This is a curated selection of the University of Melbourne Archive’s extensive collections relating to the Peace Movement in Australia.

The pursuit and capture of Ned Kelly

Collection material covering the case of Ned Kelly and his gang.

Records of theatre history

UMA holds a significant amount of material relating to the history of theatre in Melbourne. Key institutions such as the Melbourne Theatre Company and La Mama provide deep research opportunities, and collections of ephemeral material illustrate the vibrant history of theatre in Melbourne.

Malcolm Fraser

An accessible introduction to the Malcolm Fraser collection on the themes: environment and conservation, multiculturalism and immigration, and Aboriginal affairs

Early Victorian Retailers

UMA holds a significant collection of archival records from some of the major early Melbourne retailers.

The Ritchie Family and Business Archive

This guide introduces researchers to the collections held by the University of Melbourne Archives relating to early nineteenth century Victorian grazier families, in particular the Ritchie family.

Architecture and Place

UMA holds a wealth of records relating to the architectural history and social geography of Victoria. The records include architectural plans from tens of thousands of Victoria’s buildings and built structures, as well as residents’ associations and campaigns, housing and social surveys and policy discussions, photographs and much more.

Australia and the Pacific

This guide introduces researchers to the collections held by the University of Melbourne Archives containing records of, and relating to, the Pacific Region, including Papua New Guinea, Bougainville, Timor-Leste, Solomon Islands, Fiji, Vanuatu and others. Collections are listed under nation states and are grouped thematically.

Melbourne Olympic Games

This guide presents materials from the 1956 Olympic Games held by the University of Melbourne Archives.

The making of Art in Melbourne

An introduction to resources about the teaching, study and practice of art in Victoria

Engineering

Sports

Law

World of Mab Grimwade