An introduction to resources about the teaching, study and practice of art in Victoria
This guide introduces researchers to material held at the University of Melbourne Archives (UMA) relating to the teaching, study and practice of art in Victoria.
Researchers are advised to search for individuals by name in both the catalogue and digitised items search boxes on the UMA homepage, as well as searching for organisations they were involved with, or other people associated with their practice. Another helpful resource is the editorial archive of the literary journal Meanjin. This journal featured the work of Australian artists alongside literary work and may provide researchers with insight into an artist’s relationships within the Australia cultural scene.
National Gallery Art School
The National Gallery Art School, School of Design began as a private fine arts school, enrolling its first students in June 1867
Artists and Galleries
This section provides a brief outline of some of the artists who have material by or about them held at UMA
Academics and art at the University of Melbourne
The first chair of Fine Arts in Australia was bestowed by Sir Keith Murdoch by way of The Melbourne Herald
Castillo, L. M. S. (2018, October 22) Impoverished Artists. Archives and Special Collections https://blogs.unimelb.edu.au/librarycollections/2018/10/22/impoverished-artists/
Coxell, Ada, (2020, April 2). Between Old and New: Reflections of a Gallery Attendant at Old Quad. Archives and Special Collections https://blogs.unimelb.edu.au/librarycollections/2020/04/02/between-old-and-new-reflections-of-a-gallery-attendant-at-old-quad/
University of Melbourne Archives, (2018, October 2). ‘Daub’ 1947, 1948 and 1949: The Magazine Produced by Students of the National Gallery of Art School, Archives and Special Collections https://blogs.unimelb.edu.au/librarycollections/2018/10/02/daub-1947-1948-and-1949-the-magazine-produced-by-students-of-the-national-gallery-of-art-school/
University of Melbourne Archives, (2019, September 30). Ludwig Hirschfeld-Mack and the Bauhaus. Archives and Special Collections
Ward, G. (2013, October 31). Recent exhibition, Creativity & Correspondence: The George Paton Gallery Archive 1971-1990 and other images from the archive. Archives and Special Collections https://blogs.unimelb.edu.au/librarycollections/2013/10/31/selected-images-from-recent-exhibition-creativity-correspondence-the-george-paton-gallery-archive-1971-1990-and-other-images-from-the-archive/