PETER CARMODY
Peter Carmody is a filmmaker. His film 'Nothing Like Experience', captured the major activities during the University Arts Festival in May 1969. The film was commissioned by the Council of the Student Union and SRC.
KENNETH JOHN COLDICUTT
Kenneth John Coldicutt was the firstborn and of eight children. While a student at Melbourne University in the 1930s, Kenneth John Coldicutt became interested in the social and political impact of film culture. He published ‘Cinema and Capitalism’ in the Labor Club magazine, Proletariat. During the Spanish Civil War, he toured several states exhibiting films about the war and raising money for the Spanish Relief Committee.
Coldicutt was twice married. His was first married to Dorothy and then to Elizabeth. With Elizabeth, he was involved in the Realist Film Society. He founded the Federation of Victorian Film Societies and Melbourne Film Festival and the Realist Film Unit (later Realist Film Association). While secretary of the Realist Film Association, Coldicutt organised a campaign against film censorship. He died in 1993.
JOHN HILLCOAT
John Hillcoat is a graduate of the Department of Film and Television, Swinburne Institute of Technology. His first feature film was ‘Ghosts of the Civil Dead’. In 1989, the film first screened in Melbourne. The film was nominated for various categories in the Australian Film Industry Awards, during the same year. His film won the best achievement in production design.
JOHN HUGHES
John Hughes is a filmmaker. He has an interest in capturing labour political events and include the sacking of the Whitlam Government during November 1975. The National Film and Sound Archive have a collection of his films.
PAT LONGMORE
Pat Longmore was originally from New York and born in 1931. She moved to Melbourne in 1957. Head of the history department, Korowa Church of England Girls Grammar School (1957 to 1978). Chairperson of the Melbourne Film-Makers' Co-operative (1972 to 1976). Director of the Melbourne Women's Independent Film Festival in 1975. Longmore was on the editorial board of LIP (feminist visual arts magazine) in 1976. Longmore was the licensee of the Kingston Hotel in Richmond (1980 to 1986). Co-curator of the Melbourne Fringe Festival in 1989. Director of the International Lesbian Film Festival and Midsummer Festival in 1990. Co-director of the Melbourne International Lesbian, Gay Film and Video Festival (1991 to 1992).
Co-editor of the publication 'Lesbiana' in March 1992. Longmore died on July 1992.
Box 28 contains the Victorian Women's Liberation and Lesbian Feminist Archive collection. Box 111 contains the Lesbiana collection.
DONALD FERGUSSON THOMSON
Donald Thomson was a filmmaker and academic at Melbourne University, who acquired his D.Sc and Ph.D as a student there. Thomson is considered one of Australia's leading anthropologists. He was the recipient of numerous prizes, including the Welcome Gold Medal (London) for research on native administration in Arnhem Land. Thomson was Research Fellow in Anthropology, while at Melbourne University (1923 to 1937) and 1945. He was awarded several Travelling Fellowships and published books/articles. His academic career was interrupted in World War II, while serving in the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF).
Thomson led three expeditions to Cape York and Arnhem Land, lived among the tribes of the region and learned languages for several years. He filmed in great detail the cultural facets of Aboriginal society that encompassed its ceremonial performances, hunting-and-gathering, tangible culture, art and burial practices. In 1946, 20,000 ft (6096 m) of a film he had shot in Arnhem Land was destroyed in a fire, while being stored at premises managed by the Department of Information. After Thomson's death in 1970, 25,000 ft (7620 m) of film from later expeditions had been recovered.
The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) made a film titled ‘People Out of Time’, as part of a television series ‘The World Around Us’ and based on Thomson's original film that he made in 1957. The University of Melbourne Archives (UMA) holds a film copy in its collection.In addition, there is also a video copy of 'Travellers Tales' edition 'The Valley of the Great Snakes' that runs for 20 minutes.
JAMES WATSON
James ‘Jimmy’ Watson was a well-known restaurateur and wine merchant in Carlton. Watson pursued an active interest in amateur movie-making.
Watson’s films depict family and social life scenes that include the Carlton Football Club, local people, family, South Australian wine areas and the Rural School (associated with the Institute of Education).
James Watson collection – 1910-1958
James Watson collection – 1930-1950
The collection comprises of video copies in 1 box and original 16mm and 9.5mm film reels (accession number: 1993.0083 and 1992.0116) in 6 boxes and photographs in 1 box.
Please note: This collection is restricted and may not be available for immediate retrieval.
