Key 63: Social Studies 1940; 1974; 1977


An autonomous Committee on Social Training had set up a Board of Studies in 1933, but was replaced by the Board of Social Studies, formally created in 1940. It comprised the Dean of Arts, the Director of Social Studies, and nominees from the University and the Victorian Council for Social Training.

The war-time need for industrial welfare and personnel officers promoted the development of this department. A diploma in Social Studies was available from 1940 and could also be taken as part of a four year course in combination with Arts or Commerce.

Social Work students, 1958
Social Work students, 1958
[Source: University of Melbourne Archives Image Catalogue, 1993.0098.00001]

From 1971 it could only be taken in conjunction with a degree course. The increasing demand for social workers in the 1970s brought new funding and the appointment of the foundation professor V. S. Lewis in 1974. The first Bachelor of Social Work was conferred in 1977. In 1988 the Arts Faculty took over the administration of the School of Social Work.

Board of Social Studies, 1988, including Dr Len Tierney, and (right) Fay Marles
Group after the last meeting of the Board of Social Studies, 1988. L to R Stephanie Charlesworth, Brabra Hamer, Dr Len Tierney, Chairman of the Department of Social Work, and Fay Marles, who became Chancellor in 2001.
[Source: University of Melbourne Archives Media Photograph Collection, Photograph No 20275-8]