University – Photographs

Photograph - International Medical College, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia, visitors to the University, 25 June 1997. University of Melbourne Media and Publication Services Office Collection, 2003.0003.08398. Photographer: Norman Wodetzki — Image: International Medical College, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia, visitors to the University, 25 June 1997. University of Melbourne Media and Publication Services Office Collection, 2003.0003.08398. Photographer: Norman Wodetzki

University of Melbourne Archives several thousand images of the University of Melbourne, including it’s staff, conferring ceremonies, buildings across various campuses, as well as international and domestic events. The University of Melbourne Photographs Collections is searchable in the digitised items search function on the Archives homepage.

Complimenting this collection are those of student photographs Doris McKellar and Rosemary Balmford. Their collections are also available online.

The accumulated photograph collection of the University of Melbourne Media and Publication Services Office encapsulates the period of c.1960-1999. Photographs were taken by a variety of photographers for inclusion in University publications, showing the expanse of activity at the University.

Researchers can also perform an advanced search in the online catalogue for specific people, places and dates.

Group of women graduates, some dressed in mortar boards and ceremonial robes, — Image: First women to graduate University of Melbourne, 1891, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, 2017.0071.00868