Papua New Guinea and the Autonomous Region of Bougainville
Business
Australian Stock Exchange (Melbourne) Ltd. (1995.0053)
Access: Open, box level listing online
Australian Stock Exchange (Melbourne) Ltd. (1995.0133)
Access: Open, box level listing online
Stock Exchange Of Melbourne Ltd." (1990.0080)
Access: Open, box level listing online
Stock Exchange Of Melbourne Ltd. (1987.0138)
Access: Open, box level listing online
Contain delisted company files, boxed alphabetically. Each file contains documents which companies were obliged to send to the Stock Exchange as part of their listing and transactions. Including many relating to Papua New Guinea including:
- Papuan Apinaipi Petroleum (The) Co. Limited
- New Guinea Goldfields Limited
- Png Associated Industries Limited
Broken Hill Associated Smelters Pty. Ltd (1969.0006)
ACCESS: Part Restricted, records listed online at item level
The extent of Broken Hill and its subsidiaries, is estimated to be over 1,000 linear meters. This accession of 247 linear meters of business records (1889-1957) also contains the ‘personal’ working papers of Colin Frasers – geologist and company Director. Comprises correspondence and reports (1916-1936) relating to Papuna Gold & Alluvials, New Guinea Copper Mines Ltd., Bulolo Gold Dredging Co., Tinai Valley, Lakekamu Golds Fields, Misima Gold Reefs; Loloma Gold Mines, Fiji and Taranaki Oil Fields, New Zealand. Also includes financial statements, maps and photographs.
Rio Tinto Zinc Mining and Exploration Department Business Papers and Durax Lithographs (1988.0085)
Access: Restricted
Includes forty lithographs created by Australian artist, Elizabeth Durack (1915-2000) illustrating CRA Exploration activities on Bougainville. The records listing and access to the records is with the approval of Rio Tinto. Brief summaries of the scope and contents of various accessions are viewable via our online catalogue.
Bougainville Copper Limited (1992.0008)
Access: Restricted
The records of Bougainville Copper are listed, and like all other Rio Tinto subsidiaries are restricted. Access to the records is with the approval of Rio Tinto.
Access: The records listing and access to the records is with the approval of Rio Tinto
‘Personal papers’ of Director of CRA and Chairman of Bougainville Copper Ltd. Records pertain to the review and histories of Bougainville operations. Date range of records 1954-1977. Brief summaries of the scope and contents of various accessions are viewable on the UMA catalogue.
Johns, James Harold Wesley (1972.0054)
Access: Open, listed online
Established and managed a branch of the Bank of New South Wales in Salamoa, Papua New Guinea (1929-1932). Records comprise personal correspondence and photographs commenting on the administration of the Territory, and mining ventures in the region including Bulolo Gold Dredging Ltd., Edie Creek gold fields, as well as John’s extensive, and oftentimes derogatory descriptions of the local population and traditional culture.
Access: Restricted
Director of Bougainville Copper Ltd.,CRA Managing Director (1983-) and Chief Executive Officer (1987-). The records listing and access to the records is with the approval of Rio Tinto. Brief summaries of the scope and contents of various accessions are viewable on the UMA catalogue.
R.B. Ritchie & Son Pty. Ltd. (1985.0083)
Access: Open, item level listing online
Records relating to the co-ownership of Garua Plantation, Papua New Guinea, and involvement in the production of Copra and Cocoa (1947-1951). Comprises correspondence, deeds of partnership, accounts, permits, tax returns.
Woodward, Oliver Holmes (1978.0079)
Access: Open, records listed online at item level
Comprises diaries and accounts of Oliver Holmes Woodward’s trips to Papua New Guinea as a mining engineer and prospector assisting geologist Colin Fraser. Includes reports on the exploration trip to Laloki Mine, Astrolabe Field (1914). Within this collection is also the personal account of the trip taken by Marjorie Moffat Wadell (later Woodward) and Matron Edwards of the Cairns District Hospital in May – June 1918. This nuanced account describes, ceased German assets, villages, landscapes, customs and dances, visits to mission stations and plantations.
Shell Historical Archives (2008.0045)
Access: Open, item level listing online
Shell Australia is a subsidiary of the worldwide group of companies known as Royal Dutch Shell. For much of the Twentieth Century, Shell Australia had regional responsibility for operations in the Pacific. Records include correspondence, staff records, photographs, advertisements and more.
Governance/Law
Derham, David Plumley (Multiple Accessions)
Access: Open, list at item level, available online
Professor of Jurisprudence at the University of Melbourne (1951-1964) was involved in constitutional law reform of Papua New Guinea. Records within (1982.0021) comprises copies of legal articles and cases relating to the Territory of Papua New Guinea, reports on conference of local councils, papers on the administration and government (1963-1965) report on native marriages (1952-1960) land disputes (1960) Supreme Court judgements - Territory of Papua and New Guinea (1960) Findings of the Native Land Commission into customary land rights - including genealogies (1960) and a Village constable's register (1937-1952).
Isaac, Joseph Ezra (2009.0004)
ACCESS: Open, listed at item level, available online
Economist and consultant for the Department of External Territories (Canberra) and the Department of Labour (Port Moresby) on PNG labour problems (1969-1973).
Minogue, John Patrick (1986.0146; 1989.0111 And 1992.0149)
ACCESS: Open. Not listed
Circuit judge (1962-1969) of the Supreme Court of the Territory of Papua New Guinea, later Chief Justice (1970-1974). Records within (1986.0146) comprise case and trial notebooks (1960-1973). ACCESS: Restricted. Box level listed, available online. Records within (1989.0111 and 1992.0149) contain Minogue’s Papua New Guinea diaries (1961- 1974) correspondence; Law Reform Commission papers, reports, photographs
Moore, William Harrison (1963.0001)
ACCESS: Open, item level list available online
Professor of Law at the University of Melbourne (1883-1927) Moore was an authority on constitutional law. Records relate to his work with the Bureau of Social and International Affairs, the Institute of Pacific Relations (1929-1933); Royal Institute of International Affairs (1929-1933); the League of Nations (1919-1933) – where he represented Australia (1927-1929). Comprises correspondence, reports, conferences, drafts largely concerning the British empire, the occupied German colonies, Australia’s relationship with New Guinea.
Papua New Guinea Patrol Officers - Oral History Tapes (1999.0062)
ACCESS: Open. These interviews have been digitized. Contact reference services for access
The Australian government patrol officers (often referred to as ‘Kiaps’) worked in the Territory acting on authority from the Papuan New Guinea government, tasked with ensuring political stability. These interviews (conducted c.1970-1990) cover diverse range of subjects such as patrol officers’ relationships with religious missionaries; the work of missionaries in development, education and medical services. The widespread practice of ‘Bride prices’ of women entering marriage. The work of patrol officers teaching agriculture and the setting up of co-operatives. Lack of money and resources for the Administration; and the transition to Papuan New Guinea self-governance. Discussion of the perceived impact of both missions, and the Australian administration on traditional culture. Interviewer: Unknown. Interviewees: Les Byrne, Hugh Colman, Terry Fitzgerald, David Miles, Mike Fletcher, Bill Morrison, Rob McDonald.
Phillips, Philip David (1975.0055)
ACCESS: Open, box list online
Lawyer, member of the Papua New Guinea Legal Research Council, includes papers on the Recognition and Enforcement of Native Customs in Civil Cases, Business Law and Legal Education in Papua New Guinea. Notes, papers, agenda. 1967-68 See 1975.0055 - Unit 5.
Medical
Australian Psychological Society (1984.0090)
ACCESS: Restricted, listed online
Geoffrey Ord and CJ Balmer on pre-literate intelligence tests developed for Papua New Guinea public service exams in the 1960-1975. Records include studies, thesis, manuals, correspondence, articles, tests.
Macfarlane Burnet, Frank (1986.0107)
ACCESS: Open, item level list online
Immunologist and Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne (1944-1965). Comprises correspondence with, and reprints of the field journals of Carleton Gajdusek in his extensive trips throughout PNG. Gajdusek held a position of visiting investigator at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Melbourne (1955-1957) and was awarded a Nobel Prize in 1976 for his work on Kuru, a fatal neurodegenerative condition. Contains correspondence and diaries related to the numerous visits Burnet made to PNG (1961-1978) in his involvement with the Papua and New Guinea Medical Research Advisory Committee.
ACCESS: Open, item level list online
Research documents of Ian D Burnet son of Frank MACFARLANE BURNET seeking to ascertain his involvement in the chemical and biological warfare subcommittee of the New Weapons and Equipment Development Committee (from 1947).
Barrett, James William (1969.0015)
ACCESS: Open, item level list online
Medical practitioner, member of the University of Melbourne executive (1901-1939) and active member of numerous organisations including the Pan-Pacific Union, League of Nations, Royal Colonial Institute (later Royal Empire Society) as well as a correspondent with others including the ‘Round Table,’ Empire Parliamentary Association and the Council of Combined Empire Societies. He had a particular interest in the climate and diseases of Tropical Australia and its Territories.
Campbell, Edward Francis (1999.0060)
ACCESS: Not set, not listed
Army psychologist and advisor to the ‘Social Change Advisory Committee’ established in 1967 by the Department of Territories – to investigate ways to improve the communication between the Administration, and the population of the Territory of Papua New Guinea.
Oeser, Oscar Adolph (1985.0155)
ACCESS: Open, box level list online
Professor of Psychology at the University of Melbourne (1946-1970) Head of Human Relations Unit at Western Mining (1970-1973). Records comprises correspondence with academics and administration officials regarding Commission on Higher Education Papua New Guinea (1963). Includes trip report (August 1962) which outlines his observations on schools, agricultural training colleges, and psychological attitudes to change; drafts and report on ‘Inducing changes in Agriculture: The Transmission of Scientific Methods to Farmers.’ Also includes inwards correspondence (1962-1968) from his daughter,
LYN BARNETT, who was part of the Australian National University Research School of Pacific Studies in Port Moresby (est. 1963). Discussion of her work on the ‘Association and Adaption among women at Hohola Settlement’ and ‘Urban survey [Port Moresby] with particular reference to the position of women’ including raw data and reports.
ACCESS: Restricted, Item level list online
Professor of Microbiology University of Melbourne (1967-1994) Comprises records relating to his teaching work in Papua New Guinea (1979-1987).
Humanitarian
Australian Red Cross Society – National Office - Papua New Guinea - Division Records (2016.0060)
ACCESS: Open, list available online
The Papua and New Guinea Division of the Australia Red Cross was formed in 1939, operating until the Japanese invasion of 1942. In 1949 the Australian Parliament passed legislation to unite the Territories of Papua and New Guinea which meant Australia Red Cross became the governing body. Following Papua New Guinea's independence in 1975, the Papua New Guinea Red Cross was established by an Act of Parliament (1976). The records in this series comprise drafts of the Constitution establishing Papua and New Guinea Division (1940-1941); regulations, annual reports (1940-1997) activity reports, financial statements, reports and photographs of medical equipment provided to patients with tuberculosis and leprosy (also described as Hansen’s disease) and at Gemo Island Hospital (1953) and a report on St. Marie Therese Maternity Hospital, Koki.
Australian Red Cross Society – National Office - Audio Series (2016.0077)
ACCESS: Gramophone disk not yet digitised
Papua New Guinea Red Cross Choir. 12” Gramophone recording, not dated. (2016.0077.00003)
ACCESS: Open, list available online
Personnel Records of the Australian Red Cross Field Force officers who served in embedded medical units with the Far East Land Forces (FARELF) in Papua New Guinea, Japan, Korea and Malaya.
ACCESS: Open, digitized and available online
Comprises 60,000 summary cards created by the Bureau for Wounded, Missing and Prisoners of War who sought to compile information on the welfare and/or whereabouts of military personnel and civilians who were displaced, missing or lost during WW2 and subsequent theatres of war including Korea and Vietnam (1940-1975). This series is a continuation of the Australian Red Cross Wounded and Missing Files (1914-1939) held by the Australian War Memorial. The enquiry was raised, often by family members, seeking information. The Bureau collated data from military dispatches, ‘Red cross Searchers’ who interviewed casualties in hospitals, and other sources. The UMA series comprises over 60,000 summary cards which have been digitised, and available online, searchable by name or service number. The original enquiry files, which these cards summarise, are no longer extant. Further correspondence and administrative files of the Tracing Bureau are within CORRESPONDENCE FILES, NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS (2015.0033).
ACCESS: Part Restricted. Records over thirty years old are open; records dated thirty years and under are restricted – requests for permission to access to be submitted to the University Archivist.
This is a continuous file series (1914-1995) listed to item level. To assist researchers, navigate this large and complex series (136.5 linear meters) three finding aids have been produced: original order, alphabetical and chronological. Hundreds of files reference Papua New Guinea and the greater Pacific region. File titles are prefaces with locations, and list the activities including: relief programs, disaster planning (1971) development programs, tracing bureau, cables and reports from Field Force officers deployed with Far East Land Forces (FARELF) welfare services, convalescent homes (1944-1945) training courses in maternal health, physically handicapped child centre, regulations, finance, assistance to Irian Jaya Refugees (1986-1989); aid relief to civilians fleeing the Bougainville civil war, as well as development projects in its aftermath (1991-1994).
Australian Red Cross Society – National Office - International Project Files (2016.0057)
ACCESS: Open, list available online.
Comprises records relating to international projects where the Australian Red Cross responded to humanitarian crises by providing assistance in the form of development of health plans; engineering and technical support in medical building projects, medical expertise, logistical advice regarding agriculture, water resources and sanitation. Files pertain to humanitarian assistance displaced persons during the conflicts in East Timor and Bougainville; as well as records relating to Popondetta Cemetery – commemorating the Mount Lamington volcanic disaster which killed over 3,500 people in 1951.
Religious and social work
Institute Of Social Order (1990.0170)
A Jesuit social studies and training organisation. Papers include correspondence from Jesuits in Papua New Guinea, North Solomon Island and Bougainville. ACCESS: Open, item level list online.
Woman's Christian Temperance Union Of Victoria (2001.0085)
Supported the cause for a Papuan Bill providing for prohibition in Papua New Guinea (1903) visit of members to Papua New Guinea, 1991. ACCESS: Open, item level list online.
Young Men’s Christian Association (1975.0092)
Establishment in the Territory of Papua and New Guinea 1963-1964. ACCESS: Open, item level list online.
YOUNG WOMEN’S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION (1984.0066 And 1985.0048)
Pacific Regional office (unit 290 item 14/2) Papua New Guinea Regional Group, 1958-1983 (units 400-402). ACCESS: Open, item level list online.
Young Women’s Christian Association (1999.0015)
Papua New Guinea Committee (Unit 2); UN development program (Unit 15) Pacific Regional office, 1984-1990 (Unit 37). South Pacific Conference. ACCESS: Open, item level list online.
Unit 1 item 1/2 and 1/3 memoirs speeches, unit 3 Bay series letters from FJ Cato 1880s. World president of YWCA (1963-1967). Addresses/speeches regarding projects in Papua New Guinea (1968-1972) and Fiji (1965-1971). ACCESS: Open, item level list online.