How do I request material?
Once you have identified the material you'd like to view in the Reading Room, please place a request online through Aeon, the Reading Room's request system.
If you have found an item in the catalogue, select the "Request to view in Reading Room" button on the right-hand side of the catalogue record to be taken to the Aeon request form, or log in to Aeon and complete the appropriate collection request form.
If this is your first time using Aeon, you will need to first register as a user by completing a registration form.
Collection material is stored in a number of locations, both on and off site, so delivery times vary. It can take up to ten business days to deliver some material to the Reading Room, so be sure to submit your request well in advance of your visit. If you have requested restricted collection material, this may also affect delivery times. Staff will contact you to let you know when your material will be available and advise you on how to make an appointment to visit the Reading Room.
- Requesting Special Collections
Requests for Rare Books material can be made online in Aeon by submitting a Rare Books Request Form.
If you have found an item in the catalogue, select the "Request to view in Reading Room" button on the right-hand side of the catalogue record. Clicking this button will take you to the Aeon login page. Login using your University of Melbourne credentials, or the username and password you chose when registering in Aeon. You will automatically be taken to a request form with the relevant catalogue information pre-filled. Ensure all the information is correct for the item you wish to request, editing information such as volume number and publication date as needed.
Our staff will contact you when your material is available and advise you on how to make an appointment to view your material in the Reading Room. Items with the location UniM Bund or UniM Store are held off site and will require up to 5 business days for retrieval.
Prints and Rare Music: Requests for items from the Print and Rare Music collections can be made online in Aeon by and submitting the relevant Request Form.
Our staff will contact you when your material is available for viewing in the Reading Room.
- Requesting University of Melbourne Archives
Requests for Archives material can be made online in Aeon by submitting the UMA Request Form.
A maximum of ten archive boxes can be delivered per requestor at any one time. Access to some archival collections is restricted and permission must be obtained before the material can be accessed. This may affect when your items are delivered to the Reading Room; staff will be in touch if there are any issues that will impact delivery of your materials.
Our staff will contact you when your material is available and advise you on how to make an appointment to view your material in the Reading Room.
If you have a general research enquiry, please email email@example.com.
- Requesting Grainger Museum Collection
The Grainger Museum Collection archival material, including letters, manuscripts, diaries, business documents and photographs, can be requested for viewing in the Reading Room.
Grainger Museum Collection material is held off-site and can require up to 10 business days for delivery. Our staff will contact you to make an appointment when your material is available for viewing in the Reading Room.
Larger or more fragile items may be unsuitable for viewing in the Reading Room. In this instance, it may be possible to make an appointment to visit the offsite repository. In these cases, our staff will contact you to discuss your request. Please note that access to collection material may be denied if the item is deemed too fragile.
How do I know my request has been submitted successfully?
When you successfully submit a request form in Aeon, you will be redirected to the homepage. Details of the material you have requested will appear in the "Outstanding Requests" table with the status "Awaiting Request Processing".
If you select the "Submit Request" button and are not redirected to the homepage, you may need to complete a required field. An error message will appear at the top of the request form and provide details on why your request has not been submitted. Review the request form, completing all required fields and click the "Submit Request" button.
If you have trouble submitting a request, please contact the Reading Room firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
How do I know when my material is available to access?
Access to the Reading Room is by appointment. Staff will be in touch when your material is available and advise you on how to make an appointment to view your items.
What if I’d like to view material again?
You can request to have your items held for up to one week, renewable via Aeon, by telephone, or in person.
Change of plans?
If you are unable to visit the Reading Room during your booked appointment slot, please contact staff so we can update your booking and hold your material for you. Please note, we only hold material for a limited time. If you contact us after the hold date has passed, your material may have been returned to the repository. In this case, you will need to submit a new request.
What if I'm unable to visit the Reading Room?
When researchers are unable to attend the Reading Room in person, they may wish to engage a private research agent to undertake research on their behalf. See our guide to Engaging Private Research Agents for more information.