Making Copies of Material
We encourage all researchers to use their own portable photographic devices such as phones, cameras and tablets in order to take images of collection material for reference.
When making copies, researchers should keep in mind copyright requirements and that there may be restrictions on copying some material. Where this is the case, staff will let you know.
You may need:
Photographic devices including phones/tablets are allowed (no flash).
USB storage device or valid email address if you don't have your own photographic device.
No scanners allowed under any circumstances.
Ask Reading Room staff about seeking approval. Keep in mind a fee will apply.
- Missing a portable photographic device?
Where a researcher doesn't have their own portable photographic device, staff at the Reading Room can supply an iPad for use. You will need to have a valid email address or USB storage device so that you can retrieve your images.
- Copying Services
Unfortunately the Reading Room does not provide a general copying service and staff are unable to make copies of material on your behalf. However, in some circumstances it is possible to obtain copies of material made via the University Digitisation Centre for a fee. See Digitisation Requests for more information.
Copying of a whole thesis
Researchers can request copies of University of Melbourne theses held in Special Collections for their own research or study purposes. Requests for copies of theses are processed and carried out by the University Digitisation Centre.
For more information on requesting a copy of a thesis, please see the Special Collections website.
Copies of University of Melbourne Subject Descriptions
Researchers and alumni often wish to request copies of course and subject descriptions from their studies at the University of Melbourne. These are listed in the University of Melbourne Handbooks. Most handbooks are held in Special Collections, while handbooks for some years are available online. If you are unable to visit the Reading Room to view handbooks, or require certified copies, you can purchase copies of handbooks through Academic Records. You can place an online order for an Evidence of Qualification, and detail your requirements in the comment section.
- Copyright RestrictionsCopying, publishing and other use of all collection material is subject to copyright legislation. This applies to both published and unpublished material.
It is important to abide by all copyright conditions and requirements in using published and unpublished material, as copyright owners can take legal action for any breach or infringement of copyright.
For information on current copyright legislation, visit:
It is also important that you acknowledge any material that you use with full bibliographic citation.
The Copyright Act provides authors/creators with ‘moral rights’ that include the right to have their work attributed. Failure to properly acknowledge any material that you use can result in legal action from the authors/creators.
If you are unsure about how to correctly cite collection material, or have an enquiry regarding copyright restrictions, our staff are happy to provide assistance. For information on how to correctly cite University of Melbourne Archive material, visit the University of Melbourne Archives website.
- Digitisation Requests
You can request high resolution copies of collection material for publication purposes or where more than 50 pages are required by submitting a request online through Aeon. Select the "Photodigitisation request" button on an existing request or when creating a new request through the relevant collection form.
You will be asked to provide identifying information on the material (such as title, author or creator, publication date, etc.) and details of which part you wish to be copied.If the copies are to be used for publication, you will also need to obtain permission to publish or reproduce material, which can be requested when submitting the order.
Because much of the material held in the collections is old, fragile or highly valuable, copying can only be carried out under certain conditions. Some material may be restricted for access and copying by the creator, donor or for ethical reasons. Permission to copy material will be at the discretion of the Collection Manager and may be refused.
Fees will apply to digitisation requests. You will be advised on how to make payment after your request has been approved by the relevant Collection Manager. Fees for digitisation are as follows:
1 - 50 images = $20 services fee, plus $1.50 per image required (up to A3), $5.00 per image (outsized A3-A1)
50 - 200 images = Flat fee of $100 (for images up to A3)
Depending on the volume of material to be digitised, high resolution copies can take from 10 to 20 working days once a request has been approved and payment received.
If you have questions regarding your request or the digitisation process, please speak with our staff.
Copying of Materials Viewed in the Reading Room
We have prepared a handy video guide to help you safely copy materials while in the Reading Room.
For more instructional videos, visit our video guides page.Video Guides