La Belle Dame Sans Merci


M-H 4/3-1

Composer’s autograph full score. A purple linen and hardboard bound volume 38.25cm x 49cm x 0.5cm. The front cover is embossed in gold, ‘La Belle Dame Sans Merci. G.W.L. Marshall-Hall.’ The back cover holds the remnants of brown paper labels. One blank front endpage and one back endpage. 6 unpaginated sheets (12 pages). Black inked score. The left edges of the pages are reinforced with white tape. The first recto is inscribed ‘“La Belle Dame sans Merci” ballad for Tenor voice and orchestra. Poem by Keats.’ and is signed ‘G.W.L. Marshall-Hall.’ The work is scored for tenor and orchestra of 2 flutes, 2 oboes, clarinet in B, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in C, 2 tenor trombones, bass trombone, 3 kettledrums, harp, strings. The final recto is signed at the end of the score ‘G.W.L. Marshall-Hall.’ The final verso is blank. No dating is given.

M-H 4/3-2

Composer’s autograph score. Unbound, 12 sheets (24 pages) of unpaginated 20-stave score paper imprinted ‘B.C. No.20’ on a lyre emblem. Black inked score with the final sheet a blue inked added leaf pasted to the rest of the score and of a slightly smaller format. The general size is 26.5cm x 34cm. The first recto is inscribed ‘La Belle Dame Sans Merci. Ballad for Tenor Voice and Orchestra. Poem by Keats. G.W.L. Marshall-Hall. Return to Fischer-Sobell.’ At the bottom of the page in pencil and in reverse position is inscribed ‘Schumann S. Akad. Berlin. Chor. ode (Choral Ode from the ‘Helena’) or thinks [? Kings] Nevil Smith do. Delmer.’

M-H 4/3-3

Xerox copy of a piano and vocal ms. score of ‘La Belle Dame Sans Merci.’ 12 paginations of 12-stave score paper. No imprinted. The first recto inscribed ‘‘La Belle Dame Sans Merci’ words by J. Keats. Music by G.W.L. M-H.’ No additions.

M-H 4/3-4

Another copy of M-H 4/3-3.

M-H 4/3-5: 1 to 17

Orchestral parts of La Belle Dame Sans Merci. Xerox copies only of MS orchestral parts: 1 first violin, 1 second violin, 1 viola, 1 violoncello, 1 double bass, 1 first and second flute, 1 piccolo, 1 first and second oboe, 1 first and second clarinet, 1 first and second bassoon, 1 first and second French horn, 1 trumpet, 1 first and second trombone, 1 bass trombone, 1 kettledrum, 1 triangle and cymbals, 1 harp.