Visualise Your Thesis awards event

Level 3, Digital Studio, Arts West (building 148; access via single lift at the rear foyer)


University of Melbourne graduate researchers showcase their research using 60-second eposters to communicate their complex research. Using the competition template and with a strict time limit of 60 seconds, participants can include images, video, sound, animation, visualisations and text. Join us for refreshments as our celebrity judges: Thesis Whisperer (A/Prof Inger Mewburn)  and Simon Clews (Melbourne Engagement Lab) announce the winners of the 2018 competition.  Who will represent UM in the national showcase? Vote in the Viewers' Choice Award. ePosters will be on display at the event and via an online gallery.

1st prize: $1,000 VISA card
2nd prize: $500 VISA card
3rd prize: $250 VISA card
Viewers' Choice award: $100 VISA card

Visit the Visualise Your Thesis competition website:

Presenters:  Professor Justin Zobel (Pro Vice-Chancellor, Graduate and International Research),  Associate Professor Inger Mewburn (Thesis Whisperer) and Simon Clews (Melbourne Engagement Lab, Melbourne CSHE). Professor Bill Harley (President of University House). Gwenda Thomas: Director Scholarly Services, University Librarian

Associate Professor Inger Mewburn is currently the director of research training at the Australian National University where she helps PhD students and does research on a range of issues faced by research students including social media, success factors and employability.

Simon Clews is the Director of the Melbourne Engagement Lab, Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education at the University of Melbourne. Simon has been a key figure in the University of Melbourne’s 3MT competition and has judged every heat, semi-final and final since its inception there. In fact, he is often jokingly introduced to the audience as “3MT guru, Simon Clews.”

Professor Justin Zobel is the Pro Vice-Chancellor, Graduate & International Research at the University of Melbourne and Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor, School of Computing and Information Systems.