Marshall Browne Collection

The Melbourne Trilogy

The Marshall Browne Collection consisits of orginal drafts of his novels, research material, articles and reviews. There are even unpublished manuscripts.

Marshall Browne Collection full list

Marshall Browne was born in Melbourne. His family have been in Australia for six generations. His forebear, a Calcutta merchant of Irish-Persian parentage, arrived in Sydney in 1809, and bought a grazing property near Cabramatta. With other land granted by Governor Macquarie, he settled down to New South Wales life as both merchant and grazier. He was one of the founders of Australia's first bank- The Bank of New South Wales. Marshall followed several others of the family line into banking.

When he was living in Hong Kong, 1974-81, he started writing novels in his spare time. These novels have a Far East flavour and were published in London. City of Masks, a thriller set in the banks and back streets of Hong Kong has been translated into German. From 1982-1995 he lived variously in London, Melbourne and Bhutan, in a variety of banking roles. He also served as a commando in the Australian forces, and as a paratrooper in the British forces.

Awards and Nominations

  • Glen Eira Literary Awards, 'My Brother Jack' Short Story Award, 1999: joint winner for Point of Departure, Point of Return
  • Ned Kelly Awards for Crime Writing, Best First Novel Award, 2000: winner for The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders
  • The Los Angeles Times Book Prize, 2002: shortlisted for The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders
  • Ned Kelly Awards for Crime Writing, Best Novel, 2006: shortlisted for Rendezvous at Kamakura Inn


  • Dragon Strike (1981)
  • City of Masks (1981)
  • Dark Harbour (1984)
  • The Gilded Cage (1996)
  • The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders (1999)
  • The Burnt City (1999)
  • Inspector Anders and the Ship of Fools (2001)
  • The Trumpeting Angel (2001)
  • The Eye of the Abyss (2002)
  • Inspector Anders and the Blood Vendetta (2006)
  • Rendezvous at Kamakura Inn (2006)
  • The Iron Heart (2009)