Liaison Librarians

Each School and Department has a Liaison Librarian who is your contact with the Library. Liaison Librarians provide support for research and teaching undertaken at the University. How can your liaison librarian help you?

University staff and graduate students can request an individual research consultation using the Arrange a Research Consultation form. Please note: due to technical issues the form may not work off-campus.


Architecture, Building and Planning (includes Melbourne School of Design)

Architecture, Building & Planning
Sarah Charing
scharing@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 4437      

Environments
Naomi Mullumby
naomim@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7053


Arts (includes Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences and Melbourne School of Government) Arts Librarian
Hero Macdonald
herom@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 8885

Deputy Arts Librarian & Information Literacy Services Co-ordinator
Mary Coghlan
mcoghlan@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7310

Asia Institute: Chinese Language & Studies
Bick-Har Yeung
bhy@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5362

Asia Institute: Japanese Language & Studies
Arabic & Islamic Studies

Michelle Hall
hall@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5365

Asia Institute: Indonesian Language & Studies
Aline Scott-Maxwell
alinesm@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8945

Culture & Communication
Monica Raszewski
monicar@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7796
Mary Stone
marybs@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3766

Historical & Philosophical Studies

Dr Caitlin Stone
c.stone@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 3698

Languages & Linguistics
Mary Coghlan - Deputy Arts Librarian
mcoghlan@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7310

Melbourne School of Government
Hero Macdonald - Arts Librarian
herom@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 8885

Social & Political Sciences
Andrew Toogood
andrewrt@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 6824

 


Business and Economics

Business & Economics Librarian
Debra Vickers
debrajo@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5571

Business and Economics: Research
Satu Alakangas
satu.alakangas@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 7867

Business and Economics: Teaching and Learning
Mary-Louise Edwards
marye@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 6404

Business and Economics: Client Services
Kylie Tran
kylie.tran@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 9725

 

Education

Education Librarian
Appy Laspagis
laspagis@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7119

Education
Kathryn Frame (Monday to Thursday)
kgf@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4865

Education & Media
Fransie Naude
fnaude@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8298


Engineering

Engineering & Sciences Librarian
Peta Humphreys
phump@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8314

Engineering
Kathryn Lindsay
kjl@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 9659

Senior Client Services Librarian (Acting)
Craig Patterson
cpatterson@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3350

 

Law


Law Librarian

Carole Hinchcliff 
c.hinchcliff@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8500

Information Librarian
Lois Nichol
l.nichol@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 6178

Electronic Services Librarian
Bernard Lyons
blyons@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 9857

Liaison Librarian
Grace Giannini
graceag@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8913

Liaison Support Librarian
Kirsty Wilson
kirstyw@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 4415

Law Research Service Adviser
Louise Ellis
ldellis@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3511

Law Research Service Manager
Robin Gardner
robing@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 1052

 

Maps

Maps Curator
David Jones
dbj@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8416


Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences 

BioSciences Librarian
Jan Weaver
weaverj@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 4876

General Practice & Nursing
Glenda Romey
gromey@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 4322

Physiotherapy & Social Work
Tania Celeste (Thursday & Friday)
tceleste@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0482

Dentistry, Neuroscience, Psychology & Psychiatry
Jim Berryman
jimb@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0313

School of Medicine
Patrick Condron
p.condron@unimelb.edu.au
 +61 3 8344 7842

Population Health & Rural Health/Life Science
Eva Di Quinzio
evadq@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5017

Research Support Librarian
Carolyn Boyle
cboyle@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 9584


Melbourne Conservatorium of Music

Music, Visual & Performing Arts Librarian (VCA and MCM)
Georgina Binns
gbinns@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3  9035 9050

Liasion Librarians

Frances Morrissey (MCM)
frances.morrissey@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4652

Evelyn Portek (MCM)
evelynp@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4219

Lena Vigilante (MCM)
m.vigilante@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4652

Melbourne School of Graduate Research

Research Consultant - MSGR
Jennifer Warburton
jrwarb@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8466


Melbourne School of Land and Environment

MSLE Librarian
Gerard Fahey
glfahey@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 5321 4116

Resource Management & Geography
David Honeybone
davidrjh@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 4414

Forest & Ecosystem Science
Gerard Fahey
glfahey@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 5321 4116

Agriculture & Food Systems
Lindy Cochrane
lindyc@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 9931


Science

Sciences & Engineering Librarian
Peta Humphreys
phump@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8314

Botany
Eva Di Quinzio
evadq@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5017

Chemistry
Jacintha Silva
silva@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0058

Earth Sciences
Guido Tresoldi
guido@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3599

Genetics
Eva Di Quinzio
evadq@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5017

Information Systems
Peta Humphreys
phump@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8314

Information Systems
Kathryn Lindsay
kjl@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 9659

Mathematics & Statistics
Alan Burns
acburns@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 6607

Optometry & Vision Sciences
Jacintha Silva
silva@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0058

Physics
Jacintha Silva
silva@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0058

Zoology
Eva Di Quinzio
evadg@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5017

Victorian College of the Arts and Melbourne Conservatorium of Music

Music, Visual & Performing Arts Librarian (VCA and MCM)
Georgina Binns
gbinns@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3  9035 9050

Liasion Librarians

Tanya Wilson (VCA)
wilsontm@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 9108

Frances Morrissey (MCM)
frances.morrissey@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4652

Evelyn Portek (MCM)
evelynp@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4219

Lena Vigilante (MCM)
m.vigilante@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4652

Veterinary Science

BioSciences Librarian
Jan Weaver
weaverj@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9035 4876

Veterinary Science - Parkville Campus
Madeleine Bruwer
madeleine.bruwer@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7353

Veterinary Science - Werribee Campus
Kathy Fox  (Mondays, Tuesdays & Thursday afternoons)
kafox@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9731 2331

Veterinary Science - Werribee Campus
Rowena Morrison (Wednesdays, Thursday mornings, & Fridays)
rbm@unimelb.edu.au
 +61 3 9731 2331

Research Support Librarian
Carolyn Boyle
cboyle@unimelb.eduu.au
+61 3 8344 9584 

How can your liaison librarian help you?


To support your research your liaison librarian will:
  • Offer individual research consultations    
  • Advise on the best sources of information for your research, research strategies, effective use of online databases, strategies for staying current and setting up alerts
  • Assist with library tools for measuring journal and researcher impact  
  • Select new materials for purchase to support your research 
  • Advise on contributing to UMER, the University of Melbourne e-Prints Repository 

To support your  teaching your liaison librarian will:
  • Assist in sourcing subject content for the curriculum 
  • Develop supporting content for LMS subject pages
  • Provide required texts and recommended readings in a variety of formats 
  • Select new materials for purchase, including journals and electronic resources, guided by collection policies 
  • Discuss curriculum changes and help source new material to support your teaching 
  • Organise Library orientation sessions for new students 
  • Arrange subject-specific information skills sessions for lecture or tutorial groups, including advanced training on discipline-specific databases.